Belcanto from external MIDI source?

Hello all, I live in Austria and I am new to Eigenharp. I have a Pico for a week now and try to learn basic techniques in Workbench.

I would like to configure some functions of EigenD by sending Belcanto note phrases from Max/MSP and/or Logic. Is this possible?

If yes, can someone tell me the necessary objects and cabling, beginning from a Workbench MIDI input?

Unfortunately the documentation is rather sparse.

Hi, welcome!
Have never tried this. But each belcanto word has a corresponding note sequence. And the interpreter agent has a key input. My guess would be that with the T3d device (OSC from Max) or the MIDI input object (MIDI from Max) you should be able to talk Belcanto to EigenD.
The usual way to talk Belcanto to EigenD is to use a talker agent, which allows you to bind Belcanto sentences to Eigenharp keys. And on can talk Belcanto to EigenD by playing the corresponding notes on the Eigenharp. (Legendary Eigenharp players from the past apparently were good enough with that to create the default setups for EigenD 1 that wayā€¦ :slight_smile: )

P.S.: Another option: You can use the command line tool brpc to send Belcanto directly to an interpreter:
http://www.eigenlabs.com/wiki/2.0/Command_line_tools_guide/
Might be usable with the Max shell object: https://cycling74.com/tools/bernstein-shell/

1 Like
  1. Sending from Max via [shell] would be an option, but the examples in your link are for Windows and I have no idea how to type them on Mac.

2. Starting by playing Belcanto note phrases on the Pico would be a great start, but the method described in the documentation doesnā€™t work and I donā€™t have enough knowledge yet to patch it from scratch in Workbench.

3. I think playing Belcanto notes on the Pico or sending them via MIDI are similar processes in Workbench. At the moment I have Logic running, it sends some Belcanto note phrases in a loop and I think I should see some reaction in the commander. I donā€™t.