Covid isolation tracks

We’re all in self-isolation/practicing social distancing here in Ireland (and many other countries) so time to make some music!
This short track starts with a loop from a Monome Norns Awake script (Rings version), caputured into a Make Noise Phonogene. There’s modulation of the slide and gene size parameters. Over this I’m playing the Spectrasonics Trillian AC2 bass on a Sensel Morph (feeling lazy so not really taking advantage of MPE). Add some Valhalla reverb and delay and we’re done.

3 Likes

cool initiative, I started playing with a few ideas yesterday… and was also wondering about online-collaboration as a way to ‘come together during social distancing’

1 Like

Yep, i think there’s a lot of people thinking along those lines. I know that Mark Weidenbaum is designing the next few Disquiet Junto projects specifically along those lines:

I usually find that while those are interesting, the turnaround is a bit tight (especially when I’m working). I’m a little in awe of those that can knock out a track at the drop of a hat!

We could try to do something similar here though, perhaps with a more polyexpression-slant.

3 Likes

Nice :wink:

Ohh sometimes no need for MPE… ALL is there :wink:

a bit of a melancholic start for me…

3 Likes

Hainbach’s Isolation loops, loaded into MLR and played through an ErbeVerb.

2 Likes

“Rabbit Hole” features the Socially Distant Quartet (SWAM Sax, Trillian Acoustic Bass, Pianoteq, and BFD Drums). LinnStrument was used for sax and bass, Zendrum for the drums, and a Casio PX5 for the piano.

3 Likes
2 Likes

Haken Continuum and Norns Cheat Codes. Single take.

2 Likes

Cool, partially raises distant associations with the Tangerine Dream Firestarter soundtrack - and the latter part with their eariler works (which is good and better)! :slight_smile: (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1jg0_M46R-Y&list=PL8a8cutYP7fqy2O2ceNbPXRlkrz0XPQIL - not so much the title song but the latter pieces)

1 Like