Do you use Modular?

Do you use a hardware modular in conjunction with your expressive instrument?
(virtual modular is another interesting discussion, for another post … as some of these are very viable for MPE/voice per channel )

Im pretty new to modular (Ive a small Eurorack and AE modular) , so far Ive not used it with my Eigenharp or Soundplane, except as an ‘accompaniment’… which I do think is an interesting role.

mainly, of course the issue is Eurorack is expensive enough as is, without trying to create a polyphonic system… and even if you do, then it is hard to share control over voices.
(Doepher are starting to change this a bit, with some of their new quad voice modules)

But I am soon going to start using the Soundplane with the modular, to get that direct contact, expressive feel.

I’ll probably just start as a mono expressive voice, but have quite a few ideas of using as an ‘expressive surface’, which I want to explore.

so Im very interested in others thoughts, and directions.
is there much use for these instrument combined with modular?
how do you use them?

(Id love to see some performances if any any one has made any videos :slight_smile: )

1 Like

Getting my feet wet with Voltage Modular and VCV. These (being software synths) lack the haptic side of the game for obvious reasons. But it’s nice to get the feet wet :slight_smile:
Honestly mainly building stuff where a semimodular synth would also have been sufficient. But what interest me on modular synths is the ability to play sounds without automated envelopes - in some “usual” synths these are hard to get rid of…

yeah, thats part of the joy of modular (virtual modular included) , it doesn’t make assumptions - and that includes some history of being played without keyboards/midi.

I was also just saying to @NightMachines, that Ive a feeling theres a bit of a “similarity” in modular and expressive instruments - in both cases we are seeking hands-on/direct contact with sound.