New (to me) Pico. Beginner issues

Hi,
I got a Pico on ebay which turned up today. It is boxed, has the original (mac only) usb stick, pico, cable, breath thing and strap. I have a windows computer (or 3) and several macs, my main one is a M1 Macbook. I am a software developer and also have a Roli and a Linstrument, so a bit obsessive!

I downloaded the runtime thing from here community-2.1.7

and I downloaded the EigenD stuff from the 2.2.1 mac build that is here. It runs, all seems happy. Plugging in the Pico, its lights come on, and pressing the mode button all the lights come on, but I am at this point stuck where I go to get any sound. The pico itself is certainly sending stuff as if I open the load window and stroke the keys it goes up. pressing the metronome button goes from red to green but nothing else happens.

I assume I am missing something obvious, especially as it was supposed to be a consumer thing, but what have I missed?

Thanks

Invaluable info to start here:

Then take a close look at Pico Quick Start Guide
also
Pico Quick Reference Guide

Happy exploring :wink:
Im here with an eye to more questions from you.

Thanks - will do.

Turned out on the PC I just hadn’t downloaded the resources, and having done that (and changed USB port) and crashed a few times, it is working.

Now just to get it working on the mac, I suspect also something to do with the resources, although it can see the soundfonts that I put in manually

1 Like

OK, turned out media on the mac as well - I put the soundfonts in manually, and loops, and now I have drums and some of the sounds, at least 1, 2, 3 and 5, so I guess that is the best i can hope for of the original sounds, and good enough to be going with, and more importantly shows me it works!

2 Likes

Yep! And they come “alive” under those eigenkeys :wink:
With STAGE you can have an “overview”, mix, volumes, controls…

@woodinblack welcome, hope you enjoy the pico.