Newbie looking for advice on QuNexus and iPad/ThumbJam

Hello. I am brand new to the whole digital music hobby (from concertinas and strings) and am absolutely overwhelmed by the possibilities. I have played my CME Xkey through ThumbJam on the iPad for literally hours some days, and love it. However, the only “expression” features are velocity and some aftertouch. So, enter MPE! I am waiting for delivery on my new QuNexus Red, and would like any feedback or suggestions from any who have used it in this configuration, or similar; mostly as live instrument; don’t care much yet about sequencing, etc.

Thanks, and regards,

David

Welcome! I came from a string background too and never really liked using midi devices until my first Seaboard. I have a QuNexus and it’s great. It’s very expressive and easy to use. I’m not sure what specific questions you’re asking, but this is definitely the place to ask them. Everyone on here is extremely kind and helpful. Connecting an MPE controller to an MPE synth (like ThumbJam) is no different than connecting a standard MIDI controller. I don’t really use ThumbJam, but I assume if you know how to use it with your Xkey then connecting the QuNexus would be easy. I would recommend downloading the Seaboard 5D app because it’s a great way to visualize MPE and it’s free and has some cool sounds. Good luck!

Thanks very much for the welcome, and the tips. I will check the Seaboard app you suggest. And as far as connecting the XKey to Thumbjam, I just took what happened and enjoyed it. The Q board will have a ton more, and from the time I have spent looking so far, the KM folks have a much clearer manual (and app?) than the CME XKey folks. I was about to pursue a Roli, but the corporate changes and the Lumi backorder put me off…not to mention the QuNexus comes in at 200 USD for a bargain. I can’t wait (tomorrow, they say) for delivery. How do you use yours?

Thanks again, and regards,

David