Poly Expression Logo

ok, so Ive added a new logo :slight_smile:

Im no artist, nor graphic designer… so consider it a first go…
if anyone would like to come up with something please feel free to post suggestions here.

the concept is simple:

• its a free hand drawing, representing the hands on control on digital instruments.
  • the 3 lines represent a chord:
    – the root note, is as played on a keyboard, on/off, unchanging over time
    – the third, shows a note which changes in timbre (colour), and also reduces in intensity over time
    – the fifth, shows the note changing in pitch over time.

well that’s the idea, but open to other suggestions :slight_smile:

for the logo, what I think we need is
something expresses the uniqueness of our instruments, but is not tied to a particular brand, format or approach… (quick tricky since a seaboard looks very different from a linnstrument or eigenharp!)

if you wish to design one,
we will need it in various sizes, for things like banners, logos, icons etc.
so something thats re-scaleable is useful, I think transparent backgrounds are useful in some places.
as its used for icons, it has to work when small… and its seen on mobile devices , hence why i went for something fairly simple.

anyway I hope it does ‘for now’ :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I think it captures the essence of “poly expression” really well !!
It’s simple, nice description concept.

Just a thought on colour… simbolic of expression?, versus black & white - on/off ? Maybe highlight the third? (responsible for “mood” major/minor, not exclusive, but…)

1 Like

third… hmm, you mean use a colour, rather than shades of grey/b/w?

I do quite like monochrome, seem stylish/uncluttered, if i do it in colours the ‘palette’ chosen can get quite personal - also its easier/clearer to fade in monochrome than colour?!
but I agree colour/timbre go together well… perhaps the shading is a bit subtle.