Striso aging well!

Hello. I read with great interest most threads here, and lately have been particularly struck by the Eigenharp saga. I can only imagine how it feels to have an instrument so “game changing” run the risk of abandoned support and potential breakdown, although it sounds like the community of users represented here will do all in their power to prevent such. I am reminded of the Casio Digital Horn folks, who love and use (and keep running somehow) plastic instruments pushing 40 years old.

So, to Striso: mine is such a big part of my musical life I only hope it will remain in production and get support from Piers Titus and the community. It is remarkably playable, has been about 100 percent compatible with everything I’ve tried, and any “ghost notes” or extra octaves have been corrected with a button-push or three. And I know literally nothing about coding, or firmware, or the real business of MIDI. I am just an ear-learning amateur (formerly exclusively) acoustic musician, for whom the pandemic provided the impetus for straying this way. So I say to any on the fence about this instrument, “Why wait?”

4 Likes

Very cool that the firmware is open source - that should also lend well to the longevity of the instrument and the community around it, even if official support drops away.

Can I ask about the sensitivity of the buttons? Are you able to easily do things like expressive vibrato, even with multiple fingers at play? Do you have issues with calibration?

2 Likes

Hi jemc,

From my own experience. As a controller buttons are very sensitive, if you’re using it with midi really the only limit is based on the settings of your synthesizer. The only limitation on it with vibrato has been my own control.

I have found that when working on the y-axis (forward/back) that if I press several at a time then I’ll get somewhat different values, but that is very likely a matter of my control, not the device itself.