Tau with an Organelle?

I recently picked up an Organelle and have been playing with Orac. I am a bit confused on how to setup MEC to take input from my Tau. I see that MEC ships with pico setups - Pd and Osc, but nothing for the Tau.

So first… is this even possible?

Do I need to create my own json based on the one in the MEC git repo? How exactly would I make that available as an option on MEC on Organelle?

Sorry if these are obvious questions, but the Organelle is new to me, and I am just learning how things work in Orac on it.

the pico setting should kind of work for the tau, the only issue is the key mapping will be completely wrong. (well by wrong, I mean they are just assigned in a linear fashion)

if you look at this example, you will see how I say im going to map the tau - but its wrong…

the reason is the current code, assumes the keys form a grid - but of course on the tau they do not… since the first two columns are different length to the last two.
currently the way around this is to use the ‘notes’ key, which allows you to specifically note each key individual to a real ‘note’ - this is a bit long winded, but you could probably write a quite python script to create it - according to how you want your keys mapped out.

in terms of mapping it available, you can just copy the pico one, and name it something else.
on the organelle - I simply interate thru the configs in that mec directory

Ok, I think I then know what to do.

I am however a bit unclear on how the ‘notes’ key is used in the json.

I see a “_notes” (with underscore) in the example, but not at “notes” - I assume you meant “_notes”. Am I correct?

Also I am unclear on the numeric relationship in the mapping. Could you unpack that a bit for me? I would normally identify a key by row and col, but in the pico example, I only see a linear arrangement and I am not clear on what that would be like on a tau.