Your favourite synths (not iPad)?

I like the internal synth, but it lacks variety.

I tried using Pianoteq, but it’s basically just keyboards and I’ve had trouble figuring out how to make different tunings and bends work.

I tried Surge, but its handling of note off velocity annoys me.

I don’t own a tablet, nor do I own any iOS devices.

What’s your favourite synths for PC (preferably Linux, but I guess most Windows apps will run in wine) or Android that work best with striso?

1 Like

And all this time I ramble on about IOS, as if everybody had them. Sorry. Quite a stark contrast from the years (ago) I was a teacher and argued Apple was overpriced and driving “real” computers from the educational, artistic, creative and personal marketplaces.

I hope the second Striso expands your musical horizons, and can’t wait to hear more of the story.

1 Like

So, it happens that I’m actively working on improving the internal synth. What would you like to see in it?

-Frank

What I really like about the default synth is that it sounds like the attack depends on the note-on velocity, while the sustain volume is (I believe) controlled with the pressure. This already provides some variety and dynamics, but honestly I’m not satisfied.

Here’s what I thought I’d try to implement if I had the time:

1. A nasal tone similar to erhu

I feel that striso’s expressivity is a good fit for controlling a nuanced, vocal tone like that of erhu, duduk or oboe.

1. A more musical filter

There is a thing called overtone singing, where the singer uses the vocal tract to amplify certain overtones, resulting in essentially two melodies at once. I want to be able to play a drone, and just change the filter cutoff to play melody on top. Which is a great combo with the next point.

I think I managed to find a patch in Surge XT that allows me to do something like that, but I was not satisfied for some reason.

1. A brassy tone