Do you bother recording MPE tracks? or just audio?

… and if you do, do you ever edit the MPE/expressive elements? how much?

Ive got both Cubase and Bitwig, which are both pretty good at recording and editing MPE.

But I find, I don’t bother recording MPE (*)… I just host VST/AUs , and then record audio
If it get it wrong, I just re-record - so I use the DAW like a multi-track tape recorder :slight_smile:
I do, however, record normal midi from a keyboard, but Im unlikely to edit that either, the only midi I tend to edit is sequenced midi.

(*) annoyingly, I bought cubase, specifically to do this, but still don’t, despite the fact its great at it!

perhaps there are a couple of reasons:

• I like Ableton Live and use a Push2… and MPE is a pain in Ableton.
  • I don’t really enjoy editing on a computer, so whilst I might move a bit of audio around, mess with automation - the idea of moving notes around, or editing an individual notes expression sounds tedious.
  • I’m an amateur/hobbyist :slight_smile: so, whilst I want to improve, I tend to focus on what I enjoy doing!

I admit, I do sometimes wish i did record MPE, so that I could change the sound design later… but seems not enough to actually make the switch!

So I’m intrigued… how do you record your (expressive) tracks?

How many of you record/edit MPE? if not why not?
If you record/edit MPE… how do you find it? what do you use? how much editing do you do?

Not intended to be a plug but Gig Performer has a MIDI recorder built-in and its job is solely to record all incoming MIDI from all physical input devices and store in a standard MIDI file (where each track represents a physical input device). The idea is to just record everything and then throw it into a DAW later for post processing.

I should add that the whole point of this is to not get distracted by the recording process. Capture everything but deal with it later.

4 Likes